Clinician Types eligible for MIPS 2023

According to CMS, around 719,516 clinicians will meet the eligibility requirements for MIPS in 2023. These eligibility criteria will determine the MIPS payment adjustments for the year 2025. This number is lower than the approximately 809,593 eligible clinicians in 2022.

In 2023, the types of clinicians eligible for MIPS will remain the same as in 2022:

  • Physicians
  • Osteopathic practitioners
  • Chiropractors
  • Physician assistants
  • Nurse practitioners
  • Clinical nurse specialists
  • Certified registered nurse anesthetists
  • Physical therapists
  • Occupational therapists
  • Clinical psychologists
  • Qualified speech-language pathologists
  • Qualified audiologists
  • Registered dietitians or nutrition professionals
  • Clinical social workers
  • Certified nurse midwives

You are NOT eligible for Year 2023 of MIPS if you:

  • Are not a MIPS-eligible clinician type on Medicare Part B claims Enrolled as a Medicare provider after Jan. 1, 2023
  • Are a Qualifying Alternative Payment Model Participant (QP)
  • Meet any of the following low-volume threshold criteria:
    • Bill less than $90,000 for Medicare Part B-allowed services
    • See 200 or fewer Medicare Part B patients
    • Provide 200 or fewer covered professional services under the Physician Fee Schedule